4 Steps to go From Funk to Fit

TruChoice Logo

Between torn ligaments in my knee a strained bicep and a broken toe, I had been sidelined for nearly 7 months. In that time I put on weight, lost muscle and my cardio fitness level had become non-existent. Not only that, mentally, I felt like my 45 year old body would never be fit again. I felt horrible physically and mentally. 

Now what?

This series of events brought me to a place I had not been before. I felt old and weak. I went from competing in distance triathlons to not being able to run more than a mile. I had to make a plan that would get me moving again.

Here are some steps I took that can work for you too.

Start Off Slow: Don’t kill yourself in week one. This is a mistake physically and mentally. At TruChoice, we ease our clients into their routines. The first step is to identify strengths and weaknesses and then prepare your body for your new efforts. Focus on range of motion and balance exercise for a few weeks before you push harder. With lack of use, muscles shorten and joints stiffen. Give them some time to get back in action. If you start off too aggressive, you are less likely to stick with it.

Combine Strength With Cardio: There is no need to spend 30 minutes strength training and then another 30 doing cardio when you can combine the two and be done in 30 minutes. Circuit training, using your own body weight is a great way to gain strength and improve your cardio. You can do it anywhere with no equipment. This isn’t just for beginners. You can get in amazing shape and never touch a weight or step foot on a treadmill with circuit training.

Rest your body: It is so easy to overdo when you are first starting out. Give yourself 2 days of rest between workouts for the first 2 weeks and after that you can workout every other day. Don’t work out when you are still sore from the last effort and don’t work the same body parts on back to back days. This is a great way to get yourself injured. Your muscles must heal in order to get stronger. Also, if most of your body feels great but your shoulder is sore, give it some extra time to recover and work out want feels good. Your body is a chain and only as strong as its weakest link.

Get Some Help: Look, When I started TruChoice Fitness & Nutrition, I didn’t do it on my own. I know fitness and nutrition but there were many things I didn’t know about starting a business. So, I got on the web and searched, I spoke with people that had started their own business, I hired a business coach and had someone build my website. I didn’t do it alone and if you’re not sure of what to do regarding improving your fitness from where you are now, Google, ask and hire. You can start with me.

If you have questions regarding how and what to do, go to www.truchoicefitness.com and contact me direct. No charge!

As always, your questions and comments are encouraged.

Eric Soderlund
TruChoice Fitness & Nutrition

Take Your Health Back

Leave a Reply

