This or That For Breakfast

TruChoice Logo

TruChoice – This or That

I’m traveling right now and found myself in the hotels “free” breakfast room. I poured my coffee and perused the selections. There was a definite “This or That” scenario.
Here were my choices:

Waffle (butter, syrup)
Bagel
Toast
Honey Graham Cereal
Cheerios
Fruit Loops
Hardboiled egg
Egg Scramble with stuff
Bacon
Oatmeal
Orange
Banana
Coffee
Milk
Orange Juice
Apple Juice

Something happens to me when I ‘m out of my normal eat at home routine. Especially when I come across a buffet . I suddenly feel like I am on vacation even when I’m not and a sense of food entitlement comes over me. Although I had had no desire to even have breakfast, the moment I saw the food placed in front of me I wanted bacon, waffles, juice and the premade egg scrambles with cheese. I completely lost touch with the Eric that wants to eat well and feels a bit gross after such a meal. Fortunately, I became aware of my lack of consciousness before I piled the grease, fat, sugar and processed carbohydrates on to my plate.

Check this out.

My Choice: Hard boiled egg, plain oatmeal, banana, coffee
What I wanted: 3 strips of bacon, cheesy egg dish, waffle with butter and syrup

My Choice:
288 calories, 7 grams fat, 66 grams sodium, 45 grams Carbohydrates, 6 grams fiber, 12 grams protein, 195 mg cholesterol
What I wanted:
783 calories, 46 grams of fat, 1405 grams sodium, 61 grams carbohydrates, 3 grams fiber, 37 grams protein, 514 mg cholesterol
This choice had: 2x the calories, 7x the fat, 20x the sodium, 2.5x the cholesterol and nearly entirely processed food.

Not worth it.

The second choice would have either set me up for a weight gain day or a day of depriving myself to make up for the knee jerk reaction to the food in front of me.
This wasn’t great food. It was premade and just Ok quality. So it’s not like I would have left thinking “wow, what a great meal. I would have left saying, “why did I eat that?”.

So here is the “Take Away”.

1. Be aware of situations that trigger your “I’m on vacation” mode. Especially when on vacation.

2. Ask the question. “What if I didn’t eat that”? Don’t answer yourself, just ask the question. I find this to be a great way to snap the insane desire to eat something that doesn’t serve my goals.

3. Look at the quality of your food. Think about how you will feel after you eat. If it isn’t great quality then pass it up. I get so frustrated and disappointed when I eat an unhealthy meal that wasn’t even very good. Lose, lose.

4. Make a plan. What would have been smart and easier is if I had decided on how I was going to eat before I walked through the door. Not what I was going to eat, because I didn’t know what was going to be offered, but how. Was I going to stick to my 250 to 350 calorie simple breakfast like I do 80% of the time at home? Or was I going to make the conscious decision to treat myself and be Ok with that. Don’t make the decision when you lift the lid and see a stack of bacon. That type of reactionary decision making is what gets up into trouble in many areas of life, food included.

My meal wasn’t very exciting and my oatmeal was bland. But oh well. It did the job and I feel good about my decision which lasts much longer than those waffles would have. It was a choice and I made the choice that truly served me.

As always, your questions and comments are welcome.

Eric Soderlund
TruChoice Fitness & Nutrition

Fitness From The Inside Out

Leave a Reply

