A Recipe That Makes A Splash

TruChoice Logo

TruChoice Recipe of the Week

Here’s a recipe that you can make every day and have in abundance. It’s easy to prepare, has numerous health benefits and has 0 calories!

Ingredients:
Brita Water Filter
Non BPA bottle
Water

Preparation:
Pour tap water into a Brita Filter (or some other brand).
Pour into a glass or Non BPA Sports bottle
Drink!

Can be served at room temp or chilled.

I recently went into a 7-11 to purchase water for a bike ride. They were 2 for 2 dollars so I got two although I knew I could only carry one. “Hey a deal is a deal”. The young lady rang me up and said, “I should drink more water”. I asked why she didn’t and she said “I don’t like it”. She admitted to drinking 0 water per day. 0! Are you kidding me? I jumped on my soapbox and told her how our body needs water to function properly. She told me she was often tired and suffered from headaches. Gee, what a surprise. I gave her my extra bottle and went on my way.

This isn’t uncommon. I often hear from clients that they don’t like the taste of water. I guess it’s no surprise in our world of over sweetened everything. Water is life. If this isn’t an example of how out of touch we have become with our own bodies I don’t know what is.

Not that you should need them, but here are 6 reasons to get your 60 to 100 ounces of water per day.

1. Drinking Water Helps Maintain the Balance of Body Fluids. Your body is composed of about 60% water. The functions of these bodily fluids include digestion, absorption, circulation, creation of saliva, transportation of nutrients, and maintenance of body temperature.
2. Water Can Help Control Calories. While water doesn’t have any magical effect on weight loss, substituting it for higher calorie beverages can certainly help. It can also curb hunger.
3. Water Helps Energize Muscles. Cells that don’t maintain their balance of fluids and electrolytes shrivel, which can result in muscle fatigue.
4. Water Helps Keep Skin Looking Good. Your skin contains plenty of water, and functions as a protective barrier to prevent excess fluid loss. Dehydration makes your skin look more dry and wrinkled.
5. Water Helps Your Kidneys. Body fluids transport waste products in and out of cells. If you chronically drink too little, you may be at higher risk for kidney stones, especially in warm climates.
6. Water Helps Maintain Normal Bowel Function. Adequate hydration keeps things flowing along your gastrointestinal tract and prevents constipation. When you don’t get enough fluid, the colon pulls water from stools to maintain hydration causing constipation.

The bottom line is that water is liquid life and one of the easiest things we can do to flush our systems and keep organs and muscles working properly. I know for a fact that drinking plenty of water actually makes me feel better.

Drink 20 ounces when you first get out of bed and then have 8 ounces every hour or so. Make ice tea or natural lemonade. Just get it in you!
As always, your questions and comments are welcome.

Eric Soderlund

TruChoice Fitness & Nutrition

Fitness From The Inside Out

Leave a Reply

